Board index Barbecue Board General Discussion Cooked ribs on Pit Barrel Cooker

Cooked ribs on Pit Barrel Cooker

This is the place to ask your BBQ questions, share information, and more.
Post Tue Oct 01, 2013 11:16 pm
jhumpert well done
well done

After Barry arrived today I was itching to do some cooking since I haven't gotten to for a while. I decided for my first cook on the new grill I would try cooking ribs. I went to the store and got 2.5 racks of pork spares and then trimmed them down to St Louis style just like Mike showed me. I then got the ribs ready to hang and got the charcoal ready in the chimney. After dumping the chimney I added 3 chunks of apple wood to the coals. The whole cook took around 4 hours or so and for a first time on a brand new cooker I have no experience with I think they came out pretty good. After munching on rib tip cuts prior to the main course being done we have lots of leftovers. I will put the progression below.

Ribs trimmed and hooks in place
Rebar in and wood chunks in ready for the meat
Ribs are hanging
One hour in
Off the grill and getting ready to cut after removing hooks
I actually got a small smoke ring
Jeff,
Green Mountain Grills Jim Bowie Pellet Smoker - TBD
Pit Barrel Cooker- Barry

Post Tue Oct 01, 2013 11:39 pm
Cactus1 well done
well done

Lookin good! Congratulations, again, on the new cooker and a successful first cook on it.
* IHP Cactus Farm & Sauce Shack *
18 1/2 & 22 1/2" WSM
22 1/2" OTS
26 3/4" OTG

Post Tue Oct 01, 2013 11:51 pm
jhumpert well done
well done